What do you want to be when you grow up?

This is a question I get asked a lot, from as young as I can remember there were always people asking me what it is I want to do when I grow up.

At the age of five it is more of a question the adults like to ask to see what humorous response they might get back.
In the early teenage years the question is asked to get you thinking – spark your interests, hobbies, and subjects you are good at.
In the final years of high school the question becomes serious, what are you going to do with your life?

Feeling obligated, but having every intention to just save money so I could travel overseas, I applied for univerisity and was accepted into nursing in my first year out of school.  As much as I enjoyed the year, especially my two week practical in an oncology ward, my mind was firmly set on travelling and I knew ultimately nursing was not for me.

After almost two years of travelling I was brought back to reality with people asking, ‘So… now, what are you going to do? What career do you want to take?’
Still, with no idea I figured a Communications degree was a safe choice. The options within the degree are so broad and I am not set in stone with one specific career path.

I am currently majoring in Journalism and PR and I am surprisingly loving it, it is not something I ever imagined myself doing 4 or 5 years ago.
With a degree well under way and with two majors, I still consistently get asked, what will you do with your degree? What do you want to do after university?

 At 23 I don’t feel I can say ‘when I grow up I want to be…’, because the truth is I am grown up! Right now I am very content with not knowing; the idea of a full time 9-5 job and a future completely planned out scares the hell out of me. I don’t want to be consistently worrying about why I am doing something, where it will lead to, what future something may or may not have? Life is about enjoying the here and now, and I think that is exactly what I am doing…well at least trying to do anyway.
Some of the greatest moments in life happen when they are not pre-planned and completely unexpected :)

Xxx.

Leave a Reply

