Book Review: The Anti Cool Girl

I enjoy writing and I can appreciate a well-written article, but I don’t actually read that many books. Before bed I usually opted for a TV series or a movie. But for Christmas I had asked for Rosie Waterland’s book, “The Anti Cool Girl”. I am currently attempting to write a book about my Pa’s life and I figured reading another person’s biography would give me a little inspiration.

I love reading Rosie’s Bachelor Recaps so I figured I would love her book just the same.

And I did!

I literally have not been able to put it down until it was finished. This may have also had something to do with me procrastinating with my Uni assignment, but nevertheless I couldn’t put it down.

To say her childhood was tough would be a pretty big understatement. My family and I moved house once when I was about 5 years old and I remained there until I moved out. To this day I still have my parents home to turn to whenever I need. I cannot imagine constantly moving house and changing schools, never really having a constant place to call home.

“The Anti Cool Girl” is unapologetically honest in some of her most traumatic and embarrassing life stories that have shaped the person she has become. “The Anti Cool Girl” was an easy reading book that made me feel like she was just sitting there having a chat with me about her life. Her clever humour and wit was evident throughout the entire novel.

My favourite chapter was the last (spoiler alert, which is pretty much an understood thing before you read it anyway), where despite her life long need to fit in and be “cool”, she can now finally accept the person she is, which I think is important for everyone to accept.

 “Just try to love yourself enough that you never feel like you have to pretend to be something that you’re not. Sit on kerb eating a taco, or stay at the fancy party until 4am, if that’s what you want.

Just make sure it’s what YOU want.

It doesn’t mean life will be perfect, but it does mean that it will always be real.”

 Definitely a must read!

Xxx.

Leave a Reply

