God may have created us, but he doesn’t control us

You always know the conversation has taken a deep turn when the topics of religion or the universe are brought up. Usually it is a few bottles of wine in and everyone seems to have a passionate and strong opinion about their view of the world. Or you start tripping yourself out with the unknown and have to change the subject.

It is a fascinating topic because at the end of the day there are no right or wrong opinions and there are no yes or no answers.

There are so many amazing things and people in this life, but with so much destruction it is easy to question, is there a even a God?

I grew up as a Catholic and went to a Catholic school, but as I become older I often question what it is I actually believe rather then what people have told me to believe in.

In an interview with the actor and atheist, Stephen Fry, he was questioned what he would say if he was to ever meet God. His answer,

I’ll say, bone cancer in children, what’s that about? How dare you? How dare you create a world in which there is such misery that is not our fault? It’s not right; it’s utterly, utterly evil. Why should I respect a capricious, mean-minded, stupid God who creates a world that is so full of injustice and pain”.

I understand why a lot of people would have this view, but I also think that if God did create us he does not control us. It is easy to put blame on someone or something else, but almost all the destruction in this world is because of us, humans.

Poverty, war, global warming: they all seem to be direct or indirect consequences of our actions.

I could sit here and name hundreds of things why I disagree with religion and certain people that have represented it over the years and turned it in to something I don’t think it is.

As kids we have this amazing imagination, we create things from nothing and believe in everything. Religion allows us to hold onto that magic, it gives us hope and allows us to travel through life with optimism.

I don’t believe any one religion is right or wrong. I believe they all provide important foundations for how we should live and treat others around us. I don’t think practicing your religion or believing in only one religion and all it stands for is important. Respecting and loving each other and believing in hope I think are the most important things people can carry with them through life.

Xxx.

 

 

Leave a Reply

